Anyone try LED bulbs for front/rear lights

trainville

VCA Venom Member
Reaction score
Not in the Viper, but I've tried LED's in my trucks signal lights. They weren't plug and play. I'm not an electrician, but there was some kind of relay or diode that had to be wired into the harness to make them flash. When the blinker turned on, the LED would just light up solid.....something to do with their draw/amperage/??

How about using the chrome coated amber bulbs inside clear corner lenses? They look great!

Ulysses

Enthusiast
Reaction score
There are a few who have done it. The problem you usually see is hyper flashing. You need to order the in-line resistor along with the bulb. The diodes do not have the same resistance as a regular bulb.

OP
OP
S

sbkim

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I presume using them for brake lights shouldn't cause the hyper blinking? I guess the bigger issue is how in the heck do you get the rear bulb replaced - remove the rear carpet?

Ulysses

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I presume using them for brake lights shouldn't cause the hyper blinking? I guess the bigger issue is how in the heck do you get the rear bulb replaced - remove the rear carpet?

Correct. You can peel back the carpet to get to the brake light access.

Randy

Viper Owner
Reaction score
They aren't bright enough. I bought a set, put them on one side of my Viper, compared the two, and took them back out and put the regular incandescent bulbs back in immediately. No way I'm using those dim things in my car. I want someone behind me to SEE that my brake lights are on.

OP
OP
S

sbkim

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Randy - thanks for the headsup. Yes, I also heard that they were not bright even. How many LEDs were on your bulb? Obviously, more the brighter. Founda a bulb with 24 LED bulbs which should be acceptable...

Randy

Viper Owner
Reaction score