Will the 2009 Viper get a HP boost to Head off the ZR-1?

Flash1034

Enthusiast
Reaction score
With the stated HP rating of the new 09 ZR-1 at "620+" HP, do you guys think the 2009 Viper will get a HP boost to head off the competitor? It would seem that with the 10 cylinders and relatively low compression ratio of the Viper, an extra amount of HP wouldnt be all that hard to do, but Im no engineer. What do you guys think? Any Viper rumors brewing?:drive:

Flash

sun diego

Enthusiast
Reaction score
It costs so much to recertify an engine, especially per car on such a limited run that I think we are stuck with "just" 600+ hp.

InjectTheVenom

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Maybe they will offer the Mopar package as a dealer installed option just to shut them up (I bet offering it from the factory would mean stepping on the toes of the EPA)?

Roadrunner

Viper Owner
Reaction score
Maybe they'll put the headers in the trunk just like the old Hurst Olds.... manifold from the factory... but free headers in the trunk... ha.

I bet the fruits and nuts at EPA / CARB closed that old loophole long ago.

Bill Pemberton Woodhouse

VCA Member
Supporting Vendor
Reaction score
Mark my words, for track guys, I seriously doubt the ZR1 will keep up with an ACR on a road course ---- weight distribution, heat soak, and other issues will be it's demise, but the Snake will slither around alot faster.It will likely be quick in a straight line, but beyond that the Viper will still be the King of the Hill, the valley, and around the bend.

MikeR

Viper Owner
Reaction score
Duh... There coming out with a 900hp Twin Turbo Supercharged Viper.

Seriously, I think Dodge will come out with something, I remember the SRT guys saying,"Dont worry, we have some tricks". But its way to early to start the rumors or talking. The ZR1 hasnt even hit the streets to actually give SRT something to shoot for. Who knows, maybe Dodge wont do much at all.

ViperNM

Enthusiast
Reaction score