1988 Redux

black mamba1

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I graduated from college in 1987 with an engineering degree, job in place, good credit..and ready to take on the world. My brother graduated with an engineering degree six years earlier and got a job at General Motors in Detroit. He purchased a Buick Gran National and brought it home for X-mas during X-Mas break my senior yr in college. I had never heard of that car as a student. Sitting in the driveway of my parents house during X-Mas break it looked like a sleek black family car. My brother kept saying something about it running 4.9 zero to sixty on a very cold day in some magazine test run and that the Corvette guys were ******** and begging GM to downplay the Gran Nationals performance data. I didnt know what that meant either at the time.

Anyway..when I graduated my brother said if I bought a GM car he could get me all kinds of discounts. I got the employee relative discount, I got a college graduate discount, and I got another discount for having a gpa above 3.5 (they might have made this cateragory up to make me feel special). After my college days of eating oodles and noodles for 4 years straight, not having the money to take a ******* a proper date, driving a POS car, wearing jeans 3-4 times before washing them, and getting an average of 3-4 hrs of sleep every night...when I got my degree I felt like an escaped convict off death row! Free at last! So I rewarded myself by purchasing a

Black on black 1988 Corvette with the Z-52 edition with the 2:54 rear end.