Double Clutching

MtHam ACR

Enthusiast
Reaction score
double clutch or heal-toe?

Double clutch was really invented to reduce wear for non-syncromesh transmissions (which we don't have). A buddy of mine had a '41 chevy pickup in high school where it was required.

Heal-toe is a technique intended to sync the engine speed to the road speed, so adhesion isn't affected during downshift. One can accomplish the same thing with a double clutch, but with two strokes of the peddle it takes longer.

Don't double-clutch, but would heal-toe (at least while on track) if my g*d da*n gas peddle was still attached.
crying.gif
I don't think there is any advantage for everyday driving.

-Eric

Craig 201 MPH

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I started practicing in my car when I read about the techniqe and now do it regularily by force of habit, doesn't really do much on the street except sound cool and make people wonder what the heck you are doing.

SoCal Craig

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I sometimes double clutch my Boxster S when cruising because the tranny is a bit stiff (B&M Shifter) and it seems to ease the downshifts into 1st and 3rd. Never on the track though as there just isn't enough time IMHO.

No problem with Viper tranny on downshifts. Just a heel/toe single clutch throttle blip to match revs is all that is necessary.

I used to double clutch all my downshifts and had to re-teach myself to not do it anymore because it just wastes time on the track.

Ron

Enthusiast
Reaction score
<FONT face="Comic Sans MS">Rent Bullit and watch it. All the info you need.</FONT f>

Russ Oasis

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Guys,