K&N Air Intake Kit

viperchick12

Viper Owner
Reaction score
Is anyone using this type of K&N Air Intake Kit? I had smooth tubes w/ K&N filters at one time and they were sucking in so much hot air that I was losing power (but I did not have a heat shield like this set-up)... I was just wondering if it was worth the money... They are going on eBay for $250 or I would be interested in a used one if someone wants to sell...

You must be registered for see images

Purdue_Boiler_Viper

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I believe you have a 93. Go to K&N website and you'll see that they do NOT make this part for that year car. I bought one of these for my 01 when I was a newbie, and it did not fit. Of course, the vendor claimed it would fit, but the only way it would fit would be to force it, and then smash the hood to get it closed. I returned it, and stayed stock.

Knight Viper

Viper Owner
Reaction score
PBJ makes his air-box to extend past the radiator and pick up cold air from there also. Ilove this setup but can't remember the cost.
Diamondback_016.jpg

OP
OP
V

viperchick12

Viper Owner
Reaction score
I do have a 93, but this kit is for a 95-98 and if it will work on a 95 I cannot understand why it wouldn't fit on a 93.

To my benefit, my husband works at a Diesel Performance/Racing shop part-time and we have modified many parts to "fit" so that does not bother me as much as the performance gains.

Right now I have the stock set-up and it just seems as though its restricting the air flow... We are either going to have to fabricate a heat shield ourself or try to make this K&N system work... I just don't want to lose any power.

GTSnake

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Don't get this one. The tubes have too much of a bend to them and I've heard nothing but bad reviews from people who have had these. If you notice that the PBJ has straighter tubes compared to the K&N so it flows better.