Need Help! Viper has No Power!

menglert3

Viper Owner
Reaction score
My 97 GTS has no electricl power of any kind, Door Lock, Lights, won't crank, nothing. I have checked everything, new Battery, charged battery, had PCM reflashed and checked, still nothing, any suggestions?
Thanks,
Mike

jdeft1

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I'm a bit new to the Viper but I'd suggest starting with a VOM and an elecrtical schematic.... Probably a bad fuse or fuse-link somewhere. Sorry, you're gonna have to take it apart to track it down. Start by figuring out where you do have power (start with the fuse boxes)turning everything off. Does it die when you turn the key on?? Try pulling out all the accessory fuses and turn the key again ..still no power anywhere?? then check each circuit for ground continuity . (one lead to chassis, the other on the fuse terminal) That'll tell which ckts. to delve into... no beeps from the meter means no problem. A beeb from the meter means the ckt is grounded (probably through a relay or a failed component). Electrical problems can be vexing if you're not used to troubleshooting 'em

If everything is dead, try looking at all ckts that are usually "hot" all the time (even when the car is off)..dome lite etc.., CHECK YOUR UPGRADED STEREO INSTALLATION.. amps etc.

Is the battery dying overnight??? If you live near NOVA I'd be happy to help find the problem

good luck..

dave6666

Enthusiast
Reaction score
+1 on what was said above. There is very little between dome lamps and the battery, but maybe something like a main fusible link. Do you have power at the Power Distribution Center - PDC - via a voltmeter check?

jdeft1... Man... Join the VCA. We need people like you.

RTTTTed

Viper Owner
Reaction score