Paxton Installation

slither

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Has anyone out there installed a Paxton kit themselves? I just ordered the kit and was planning on putting it on myself, but having a local shop tune it, mostly to make sure the A/F ratio is on the safe side. My car ('04) is bone stock except for Mopar exhaust, 3.45 gears and K&N (which will go of course). I'd rather run it on the rich side and lose a few HP than risk breaking it, plus I'm in Texas and it's freakin' hot down here. I downloaded the install manual from the Paxton website and mechanically it doesn't look too bad. A few years ago I built an engine and installed a blower on my old '85 mustang (with a Holley 750 - old school) so I have some experience. I'm wondering if someone has done it if they could comment on how difficult it was, was it worth the effort to save some $$, any tips/tricks/suggestions, etc.

Art 138

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I understand to key the crankshaft the Motor needs to be raised about 2 inches. At least that's what DLM does for safety reasons and they put a new modified crankshaft pulley with damper. Otherwise should not be difficult. Whomever you buy it from ask to determine if they give free installation trouble shooting time over the phone. My blower pulley nose rubbed up against the alternator belt and had to be machined down(Blower Pulley Nose). Something I could not have done at home.

GR8_ASP

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Been there, done that. Had a few problems with wrong/missing parts but Paxton air mailed the correct parts that I did not find locally.

Pinning the crank (using the Paxton supplied parts/tools) was not the easiest. I had to buy a 90 degree drill and lift the engine some.

Overall the install is straight forward but takes some time. I would estimate 40-50 hours.

I am still waiting for the "improved" air cleaner housing as mine hits the hood and has worn out the hood pad.

SRTRICKY

Enthusiast
Reaction score