Should I do my own alignments?

ntmatter

Enthusiast
Reaction score
After a full Viper Days season, I'm getting comfortable enough pushing the car to realize the difference a proper alignment can make. I've seen some camber/caster and toe alignment tools for sale in catalogs and my local race shop, and I'm trying to figure out if it's worth the $700 or so that these tools would cost me. Given that I did nearly 20 track days this year, and expect to do maybe 10-15 next year, would it be reasonable for me to learn to align the car myself? Does anyone have any experience with doing this work - is it worth the effort or should I just pay a local shop to do it for me?

Thanks for any advice,

A

GTS Dean

Enthusiast
Reaction score
It really all depends on how dedicated you are to maximizing tire life and performance. A good alignment can be worth several seconds per lap. I've been doing my own alignments for about the last 3 years. It takes me about an hour per corner to do the car, including changing brake pads and rotors between street and track duty.

Do it enough and the next thing you know, other Viper buds will be at your house the week before track time getting theirs done too.
wink.gif
You definitely need to invest in a lift to make it easier.

kverges

Enthusiast
Reaction score
OK, Dean-O

If you don't use strings, how do you set toe? I would love to know a way to set toe on all four corners w/o strings. I just used the SmartString setup from the folks who came out with the SmartCamber tool, and I actually did not mind the strings at all. You mount the alignment bars to the car, so when you go up & down on the lift you don't have to worry about the car coming back down in a different position relative to the strings.