wrapping the exhaust with thermal wrap

darkostoj

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I pulled off my stock cats and deleted them now the car is nice and cool, but it has gotten the car too loud for my liking and i'm pulling them off now and installing high flow cats. I am worried about some of the heat coming back and have been thinking about wrapping that section of the exhaust, but i've never used wrap before. Anybody recommend a certain type/brand? Any tips on getting it on there, having it stay on there, and not retaining a lot of moisture? I don't plan on driving the car in rain ever...but sometimes you can't help it by getting caught in it so I want to make sure I do a good job on the wrap.

eucharistos

Enthusiast
Reaction score
what is the rest of your exhaust (from cat back) is it stock?

some have said cat delete and stock rear muffler is a good combo and keeps the heat and sound out, but in detroit, i would think the heat is not too bad a problem :dunno:

PhoenixGTS

Enthusiast
Reaction score
You are looking for a puffy spun ceramic blanket material called Cer-Wool. It is used to insulate kilns and equipment in the steel making industry. Sean Roe used to sell kits of it to wrap the exhaust inside the sills. I found that yes it does help with heat, but the flip side is it helps retain the heat for longer when you stop so if you are doing errands and stopping at a store then going to another, the exhaust does not cool down in bewteen and you end up hotter after awhile. But for one drive-never stop-come home it helped. I wrapped my exhaust in it and used stainless safety wire installed with spinning pliers every foot or so to hold it in place. Sorry I don't have a picture, but I noticed very similar material in the post-crash pictures of a Gen IV on their board where the side sills were ripped off in the crash so it looks like the factory is using it now.

OP
OP
D

darkostoj

Enthusiast
Reaction score
what is the rest of your exhaust (from cat back) is it stock?