2003 SRT10 Stereo (CD won't load) Advice please

TexasTorred

Enthusiast
Joined
Apr 27, 2011
Posts
458
Reaction score
1
Location
Plano, Texas
ViperLand,
Well after 21.5 years, my OEM stereo/6-CD changer is having 'issues.' Normal drive, CD player stops, I was then able to eject all 6 cds. Let car cool, now "CD-Error" as it tries to load, peeps back in/out, won't load. Searched forums, youtube.....found a way to cut out cardstock, spray alcohol, let it take it in and eject to clean.....no luck.

Radio works fine. Really want to keep the OEM/originality, but it may cost as much to fix the CD mechanism as just getting an aftermarket head unit. I also read, if i go the ebay route, get a used OEM, may not be just plug and play either, requiring a dealership trip--which I'd rather avoid.

Looking for some advice, similar past experiences. Thank you!!

P.S. And yes, I love to hear the engine, turn it off, etc.....but I like music too:)
 
Last edited:

Goggles Pizano

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Posts
391
Reaction score
85
Could be a brokem plastic piece inside the transport mechanism, communication wire, etc.
I feel you are stuck taking it out and apart.
 

gregrowell

Enthusiast
Joined
May 10, 2023
Posts
14
Reaction score
3
Location
75093
Update: Well, after putting some cardstock in there to mimic a CD ...got stuck in there. I pretty much tore up the inside of the unit getting the cardstock back out, so ..... looks like 'radio only' / just live with playing the radio OR that unit is coming out.

Thanks for the part number / feedback to you both and for providing this part number P05091556AG

I am praying, when I order a new one / used OEM style, it will be plug and play as I am definitely wrench-challenged........(i.e. no need for splicing wires, soldering, you name it). I get the feeling I'll try to plug it in, but given it's a stereo from another car or new OEM----from a security standpoint, this will force a trip to the dealer?


Damn---I LOVE music and playing my CDs while cruising....so I'll do what you I got to do. (I also LOVE my Viper. I've had it now 14 years and now 50K miles, .....but man, seems each time I take it out...I hope nothing breaks:) Up until a few years ago, the car was as durable/easy (and relatively inexpensive) to maintain. I guess 20 years is about when things so to go sideways in terms of age. Still that's pretty darn impressive on Dodge's part.

Thanks again! I learn a lot on this forum.
 

gregrowell

Enthusiast
Joined
May 10, 2023
Posts
14
Reaction score
3
Location
75093
That's a very common radio, Chrysler used in just about everything, trucks, Jeeps mini-vans, etc. Should be able to find a used one cheap.

P0509155
Thank you for the Part Number. Yes, I see...common. (Not that you CarToys or a radio expert, but....do you think it is as simple as taking the bezels off, removing / unplugging old unit, install used unit.....voila'......done. OR some security or trip to dealer/someone to 'throw the switch for it to work.' Sorry so many questions. Love my music.
 

Old School

Enthusiast
Joined
May 14, 2023
Posts
114
Reaction score
59
Location
North Alabama
Thank you for the Part Number. Yes, I see...common. (Not that you CarToys or a radio expert, but....do you think it is as simple as taking the bezels off, removing / unplugging old unit, install used unit.....voila'......done. OR some security or trip to dealer/someone to 'throw the switch for it to work.' Sorry so many questions. Love my music.
Replacing the radio is easy, just plug and play. You've got to remove center console bezel to get access to a screw at the bottom of the bezel. None of it is really that hard though.
 
Last edited:

gregrowell

Enthusiast
Joined
May 10, 2023
Posts
14
Reaction score
3
Location
75093
Replacing the radio is easy, just plug and play. You've got to remove center console bezel to get access to a screw at the bottom of the bezel. None of it is really that hard though.
Sounds good, thanks. I'm on the hunt for a new (or used OEM head unit) /P05091556AG ..... then go from there.
 

eaks

Enthusiast
Joined
Aug 1, 2023
Posts
52
Reaction score
15
Location
Calgary Alberta
Should be able to get one extremely cheap. I have one available but I am in Canada and was planning on keeping it incase I ever sell and the buyer wants it back to stock. I believe mine was already changed as well as the unit had some paint pen on it and I believe it said it was from a caravan of a similar year. There should be plenty and I would think extremely cheap. Once you get the dash piece off its 4 screws and the unit pops out. New unit will plug and play. You can then ensure everything is working before reassembling the dash and your golden. I would think first time doing any of it that it should be done in under an hour. Having pulled the dash on mine a few times I think I could swap it out in 15-20 mins.
 
OP
OP
TexasTorred

TexasTorred

Enthusiast
Joined
Apr 27, 2011
Posts
458
Reaction score
1
Location
Plano, Texas
Should be able to get one extremely cheap. I have one available but I am in Canada and was planning on keeping it incase I ever sell and the buyer wants it back to stock. I believe mine was already changed as well as the unit had some paint pen on it and I believe it said it was from a caravan of a similar year. There should be plenty and I would think extremely cheap. Once you get the dash piece off its 4 screws and the unit pops out. New unit will plug and play. You can then ensure everything is working before reassembling the dash and your golden. I would think first time doing any of it that it should be done in under an hour. Having pulled the dash on mine a few times I think I could swap it out in 15-20 mins.
Thanks. I found one and it is in route. (Used OEM. Hoping, just plug and play.) I am wrench-challenged, but going to give it a shot, take my time. Thanks for the response.
 

Goggles Pizano

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Posts
391
Reaction score
85
@TexasTorred wrench challenged is not going to be a problem. Gorillaing stuff will be since the stuff is plastic. Take your time, search through posts on a couple viper sites and ask. Some clips will feel like hidden screws and hidden screws will feel like clips. Just he careful.
 

gregrowell

Enthusiast
Joined
May 10, 2023
Posts
14
Reaction score
3
Location
75093
@TexasTorred wrench challenged is not going to be a problem. Gorillaing stuff will be since the stuff is plastic. Take your time, search through posts on a couple viper sites and ask. Some clips will feel like hidden screws and hidden screws will feel like clips. Just he careful.
Thanks. Going to take my time, I have watched some really good step-by-steps. (I'm on it!!) Just when you are unpluging the 'start' button, Climate controls, on a 21 year old care = be careful, take your time.
 
OP
OP
TexasTorred

TexasTorred

Enthusiast
Joined
Apr 27, 2011
Posts
458
Reaction score
1
Location
Plano, Texas
Update: "I feel like when man first created fire." LOL. Success! Took my time....almost gave up a few times. Got a little nervous unplugging the starter button and a/c controls, kind of frustrating to unplug them, but got it! I never did get the center console completely off. Couldn't figure out (or get a good sight) at removing the window switches. So just popped it up and back a little. Then the radio bezel came off. Kind of rough trying to get that engine start and a/c plugs off, but finally figured them out. Radio, out, used radio in.... Hardest part was re-plugging in behind the bezel. Would have been SO MUCH easier had I figured out taking the console / bezel off for complete access. (I did get the radio bezel completely off though.) Woohoo, back in business with CD sound:)

I want to say 'thank you' to this forum, LOT OF GOOD advice and information. Avoided cutting my ear off :) :) Thanks again.
 
Last edited:

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
153,357
Posts
1,683,203
Members
17,880
Latest member
10BANGR
Top