95viper - check engine lite ON - engine skipping

aviatorone

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I am new to the Viper world... Here is a little bit of history, the car has 60,000 miles on it. Not sure when the last tune up was, I bought the car 8 months ago.

The car was running fine yesterday, when I started it tonight, the 'check engine' light came on right away... the engine sounds like its skipping/misfiring on one cylinder.

I do not wanna drive it like this (duh), but drove it a couple miles to an AutoZone, so they could read the code, they don't carry the correct plug to read it...(damn)

I went thru the engine bay, checked all the plug wires (both ends), checked all the vacuum lines I could find. The oil is still black, and everything looks good and seems to be in place.

My nearest Dodge dealer is probably 30 miles away... I was planning on taking it in soon to have them change all the fluids, and have them tutor me on some checks. I did buy Chuck Tators tape, and did learn a couple things on the Gen 1 cars, pretty cool! Thanks Chuck!

I've searched this site and others, with no luck, looking for similiar issues.

Has this happened to anyone, that could give me some tips? Besides changing out the plugs and wires, is there anything else I can check?

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.........thank you and Merry Christmas!!

Camfab

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Has the car had the head gaskets changed yet? All Gen I's have defective head gaskets. Did you do a compression test, you can also check for exhaust contamination in the coolant.

OP
OP
A

aviatorone

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey Camfab, thanks....
I'm pretty sure the head gasket was not replaced. I asked the first owner, and he said, he didn't think it was replaced. (first owner had a garage and 2 mechanics worked under him)