1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gen 1 wheels?

Discussion in 'Tire , Wheel, Brake and Suspension' started by SNAKE BITE, Sep 21, 2012.

  1. SNAKE BITE

    SNAKE BITE Viper Owner

    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    Belvidere, Illinois
    Could rear Gen 1, 3 spoke wheels be run on all 4 corners? I'm looking for a wider rim up front to use 315's.
    I currently have 315's on the stock front rims but I waste some of the tire due to the rim being too narrow.
     
  2. klamathpro

    klamathpro Viper Owner

    Posts:
    925
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Location:
    Detroit
    No, that's crazy. Why do you need 315's up front? Even for the track that's ridiculous. I think 295's are the widest most people use, but some have used 305's. I don't think 13" rims will work up front, the offset alone wouldn't work, you'll bind the inner wheel well. There are some aftermarket 12" rims that might work though.
     
  3. SNAKE BITE

    SNAKE BITE Viper Owner

    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    Belvidere, Illinois
    Not crazy, just asking a question. I've run 315's up front for autocross for the past 4 seasons, so it does work quite well. It would work even better with a wider rim up front. I am skeptical that the 13" may be too wide up front also, but wanted to see if anyone has tried it.
     
  4. SNKEBIT

    SNKEBIT Enthusiast

    Posts:
    2,577
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    western wisc.
    put one on and see what happens.....
     
  5. klamathpro

    klamathpro Viper Owner

    Posts:
    925
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Location:
    Detroit
    I guess it's only a little crazy. Look at this thread and you'll get some more input. You can't run 13" up front but there are other wheel choices. 11" would be perfect, but 12" might narrow your lock-to-lock deflection. Remember that if you road race, you lose sidewall strength when cornering with 315's on 10" rims. It's possible that your actually slower in the corners than 295's or 305's.

    http://forums.viperclub.org/threads/622096-315-front-tire-and-wheel-question?highlight=315mm+front

    If you do end up putting 13" rears up front, you are obligated to post pics, and you will forever be called "Crazy Snake". :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2012
  6. klamathpro

    klamathpro Viper Owner

    Posts:
    925
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Location:
    Detroit
    Here's what you'd want to do... This place will widen your rims to whatever you want. In your case you would want to widen your fronts to maybe a 10.5" or 11".
    http://www.weldcraftwheels.com/
     
  7. SNAKE BITE

    SNAKE BITE Viper Owner

    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    Belvidere, Illinois
    That definately may be an option. I'll look into it.
    Thank you for the link!
     
  8. SNAKE BITE

    SNAKE BITE Viper Owner

    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    Belvidere, Illinois
    I put rears on front last night and see they rub the sway bar before full lock. I believe the answer may be to narrow my extra rears by 2".
    That would get me 1" wider than my fronts now and only put the inside tire 1/4" closer as the offset from front wheel to rear is 3/4"
    difference.
     
  9. klamathpro

    klamathpro Viper Owner

    Posts:
    925
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Location:
    Detroit
    I just visited the Weldcraft facility the first time yesterday. I saw a few widened rims. They do a pretty decent job. I didn't know that they are the place Belle Tire has been taking my rims to when they bend or crack. I got sick of paying $150 to fix my cracked Crossfire rims at Belle Tire and found this place. It turns they fixed that same rim before, and said they normally only charge $75 for cracked rims, but gave it to me for free since the crack was near a previous fix. Belle Tire has been making 100% profit from this company's work. I'm going to take any future damaged rims there. I don't think you'll be disappointed if you end up having them narrow some rims.
     
  10. VenomGTR

    VenomGTR Viper Owner

    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Instead of widening your stock wheels for track use, I have a set of non-staggered 17" Forgelines for sale if you're interested. They're a little over 13" wide both front and rear. Here's a picture for reference. Running 335/35/17 both front and rear. The fronts do rub on the inner control arm at full lock, which isn't a problem for me. I've also used these wheels on my Gen 1 Viper.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. RoyV101621

    RoyV101621 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    465
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Location:
    Indiana Suburbs of Chicago
    .
    Hay. That's me! Exactly. I'm running Ecstatic XS. I have a spare set of bent Gen1 wheels waiting for widening and repair. Let me know how it works out for you and what costs I can expect.
     

Share This Page