gps timer for lap times?

wastntim

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Why GPS instead of Laser type system? Do the benefits of a GPS system outweigh the cost difference?

Viperless

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I have no experience with laser type systems but I believe the advantage to GPS systems is they don't require anything to be setup external to the vehicle. It's all self contained and you can easily move it from one vehicle to another. The G2X will automatically create a trackmap from the data it collects and you can set the start/finish line anywhere on the map. It also logs lateral g-forces as well as braking and acceleration g-forces. It will also display your real time GPS speed on the "dash" as well as lap times, lap time differences, engine rpms, etc. It also has a progressive shift light that you can program to come on at any rpm and rpm interval you choose. It's more than just a simple lap timer.

wastntim

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I have no experience with laser type systems but I believe the advantage to GPS systems is they don't require anything to be setup external to the vehicle. It's all self contained and you can easily move it from one vehicle to another. The G2X will automatically create a trackmap from the data it collects and you can set the start/finish line anywhere on the map. It also logs lateral g-forces as well as braking and acceleration g-forces. It will also display your real time GPS speed on the "dash" as well as lap times, lap time differences, engine rpms, etc. It also has a progressive shift light that you can program to come on at any rpm and rpm interval you choose. It's more than just a simple lap timer.

How did you hook it up to get the RPM info?

Viperless

Enthusiast
Reaction score
How did you hook it up to get the RPM info?