Need Help Fast

unclgreggy

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I'm going to Englishtown NJ to time my car in the 1/4 mile. I've never done it and have some questions.
Question 1: In order to get the best times, what type of tire should I buy? I have a set of 18" HREs with MXX3s. I don't want to use them. I have the stock rims and would purchase a set of slicks, or whatever you guys suggest. I also must drive it there if that matters.

Question 2: With all the mods to my engine, it is very difficult to launch the car without wheel hop. I do have a penske adjustable suspension, car is very low. What can I do?

Question 3: since this is my first time dragging, can anyone give me tips on launching, ie., RPMs etc.

Thanks.

Tomer

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I am interested in launch info as well...I am beginning to think that riding with someone experienced is the only way...The old, put rpms ~2500 and feather the clutch is easier said than done...For fun at a secluded stop sign I tried a fast launch starting with the revs at 2000...I could feel the adrenaline rush, just the sound gets you going, and you know what happened...wheel spin...dohhhhh

Fun, but not what I wanted. I am sure I would be a complete disaster if I were sitting by the tree!!

Tomer

toddt

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I've never been to the dragstrip.

I read this board quite carefully.

Here is my EXPERT advice: :-D

1) Slicks? Yes.
2) Big-a$$ burn out? You becha. You need to see smoke, and lots of it.
3) Launch at 3750 on the last yellow and quickly release the clutch, feathering ONLY if you need to.
4) Shift 1-2 5900 rpm
5) Shift 2-3 5700 rpm
6) Shift 3-4 5600 rpm

Suspension setup: Fronts Rebound damping, none. Bounce Hard.
Rears: Bounce damping, Rebound damping, hard.
Result: You win!

Ahhhhh ha ha ha...how's that, non-posers?
(thanks Ben--Can I be your 1badgts?)

genXgts

Enthusiast
Reaction score
What year your car is, and therefore what size your stock rims are, will dictate alot about tire choice.