RADAR DECTORS?

Kurt 97 GTS

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Many of us on this board, including myself, swear by Valentine One. Pricy, but worth it
You must be registered for see images

phiebert

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I am looking for a new one too and saw some site, which of course I can't remember now, that said the biggest fault of the Valentine was miss detections (automatic doors, etc.). That drives me nuts because it eventually makes you not pay attention to the detector or turn it off. This site mentioned that the top end Bel detected just as well and didn't have false alarms. The Bel didn't have the cool "which direction is the cop coming from" feature though if I recall.

Dirk Pitt

Enthusiast
Reaction score
As an engineer, I don't know how you eliminate false positives given that many other consumer/industrial devices are emitting and the same wavelength as various radar bands.

The only way to eliminate false positives is to integrate the incoming signal and reject based upon some algorithm (looks at signal, determines if it is increasing in strength and contains other "known" characteristics of actual radar). I have a Valentine and there is a "Logic" mode which is intended to eliminate false positives in "noisy" radar areas. It seems to work just fine and does eliminate most extraneous alarms. The risk of any algorithm that eliminates false positives is that you are throwing away information that a signal was detected.

You are right, too many alarms and you ignore the device. Too few and you might miss an early warning signal. I do know that our local police department intentionally sits in "noisy" radar areas to confuse drivers with oncoming radar detectors. As I understand it, this is not that uncommon a tactic.

I have owned Bel in the past and the Valentine seems at least as good and the direction indicator is a great feature.

Matt M PA

Enthusiast
Reaction score