Scared to Drop you car off for Service? HONEST TO GOD SOLUTION!! NO WORRIES!!

2002_Viper_GTS_ACR

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Ok,

So here it is, I drop my Viper off to get the A/C condensor replaced due to a leak, and I know LITTLE about this dealership since I am NEW to california. So I do the usual Anal Rententive Viper owner thing... telling the Service tech NO DRIVING. I want it to the mechanics bay, and then parked, NO drives.

The service tech gives me the same old 'well we'll try not to, but if we need to test the AC only the Viper Tech will take it"

Thats like saying, dont worry, the only one who is going to bang on your baby is a guy who is certified to beat on 'em. :smirk:

So I'm like Damn... I remember seeing this thing in my SCT tuner that says 'valet' I have no idea what EXACTLY it does, but conceptually I have an idea, its going to lower the cars power to hopefully mitigate a jackazz from doing stupid stuff with it.

So I put it in that mode RIGHT in the dealership lot, and then leave to worry about the call all day, but I did tell the technician I put it in Valet mode so he doesnt call me hours later saying the car has major engine issues.

So works complete, I go get the car, and I totally forgot to bring the SCT tuner to take it back outta 'valet' mode. So I say how bad can this be, big deal....

Oh, it doesnt reduce power, it CASTRATES THE **** ! omg... I was limping it around and I'm getting pissed.. I'm thinking, no way can I drive this car like this.. its slower then a neon (swear to god, yes.. I would EASILY get beat by a base neon).

But as I'm reaching the ****** of getting pissed, I start noticing I'm smiling... Wait a minute.... this THING WORKS... AND WORKS BIG. I quickly figured out, you basically have to switch to the next gear when it cuts the power, but you can easily drive the car, it just commands complete respect and easy throttle and short shifting, and we'll get you where you need to be.