What RPM does your Viper idle?

Discussion in 'RT/10 and GTS Discussions' started by AAKVIPER, Jun 15, 2019.

  1. AAKVIPER

    AAKVIPER Viper Owner

    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Location:
    Princeton area ..Central NJ
    My 1994 Gen 1 has been at this idle area since I first owned it! rpm6.jpg
     
  2. MoparMap

    MoparMap VCA National President

    Posts:
    1,503
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Location:
    Kansas
    I think my gen 3 is similar, somewhere between 400-600. Can't remember what my mom's 94 idles at though.
     
  3. lane_viper

    lane_viper Enthusiast

    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Drove mine to work this morning, my 96 GTS idles at 600-800RPM from what I can tell.
     
  4. kssssnake

    kssssnake Enthusiast

    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Brings to mind another thought. It is good to check your throttle bodies every year to make sure they go full open at full throttle. I believe one side needs to crack open first. Viper Steve can address that one. Gremlins play with the cables over the winter.
     
  5. steve e

    steve e Viper Owner

    Posts:
    867
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 1995
    On my 95 I had to adjust the throttle body cables, right from the factory, and after that every so often, it seemed once they were set at the perfect spot they stayed put, if you make them to tight , when you slam on the throttle they click open a few notches and the throttle doesn't open all the way, you will get the hang of it the more familiar you get with the car.
     
  6. Grailkeeper

    Grailkeeper VCA Member

    Posts:
    1,210
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Hi Guys.....
    The tach on the early cars only has a 500 and 750 tic make. With the needle just below the second mark it is sitting at 700 rpm right where it should be....thanx to Dick Winkles for the info....Mr V-10 himself
     

Share This Page