What spare Parts needed by novice racer

Vipergtsbob

Former VCA National President
VCA Officer
Reaction score
As I have now ordered my comp coupe and will take delivery in early November, I would like to have some input from comp coupe veterans as what spare parts are recommended to be acquired when I introduce the car into club racing events next spring. I intend on commencing my program by doing our regional club and SCCA events and will participate in VRL events as I progress in my driving experience. I have been acquiring a lot of track junk in using my ACR for the last three years, but with the coupe being strictly for track use, I was curious what parts wore most and any other general "newbie" tech advice the viper comp coupe crowd can provide.
Thanks in advance.
Bob Carroll
VCA New Jersey President,
National VCA Treasurer elect :usa:

Stan Wilson

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Bob,

Congratulations on your Viper Comp Coupe purchase!! You are going to have the time of your life in the driver's seat of this snake for sure!!

The best plan for needed parts would be the schedule of replacement based in hours of use in your Comp Coupe manual. You will receive the Comp Coupe owner's manual with the car, and it will list all of the item's life cycles in it based upon hours of track use.

The main items you will need are brake rotors, brake pads, rear toe links, wheel bearings, fluids, and of course, tires. :laugh:

Give me a call if you would like to discuss details. I have had my Coupe Coupe on the track for 2 test sessions, 2 VRL races, and 3 World Challenge weekends without any mechanical problems.

Stan Wilson #92

Janni

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Bob,
After 2 years doing the VRL, you might should consider doing ViperDays/VRL instead of regional events.

1. you'll come up to speed a LOT faster being around others in the same car.
2. you'll get tons more track time.
3. the events are MUCH more organized