Best Brake Pads for Track Days

witz323

Viper Owner
Reaction score
After purchasing my '04 last summer I've really caught the racing bug, and I'm trying to participate in my first track day this weekend. Numerous people have suggested adding new pads for the saturday event, maybe even fronts only. Can anyone suggest a specific brand that will allow me to have a great track day, but won't destroy my rotors? I'm new to this, so I will be driving in the beginner class, so I probably won't be punishing the brakes too bad. As always any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

DMan

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I'm subscribing, I have the same question.

I have used EBC reds in the past & liked them (on other cars). I have a set now in the box for my viper, but I've searched and found negative feedback on them vs going with Hawks. I'm wondering if it's worth installing the EBC's I have or to just write them off and order Hawk pads.

Catwood

Viper Owner
Reaction score
IF you are running the beginner class just run the stock OEM pads. Once you start moving up talk to the local guys and see what they run. On my GTS I like the Hawk HT10 front and blues rear the best. But that was on a car without ABS and a rear bias adjuster. Keep in mind racing pads tend to like heat before they work well. Also the "bite" factor, and the "release" factor is important. You'll need to considter the weight of the car. That's a lot to consider and part of it's trail and error based on what you think feels good. But keep in mind what feels good needs to be validated with actual data. Since I was just having fun I went for feel first and what felt safe. Some of other pads tended to lock quick and wouldn't release. That most likely wont be an issue on an ABS car.

Dave Moore

VCA Venom Member
Venom Member
Reaction score
Like Catwood said run the stock pads for now.