Does this smell like a scam

Sarge

Enthusiast
Reaction score
This is my first post on the forum. I've been looking for a Gen III car for a little over a month and came across and ad on CARS.com for an 05' Yellow convertible a few days ago. The price is so low $31,000 I'm was guessing it's a salvage but after contact with the seller likely a pretty poor scam. The phone number in the ad rings to a fax machine so I used the e-mail to contact the seller on Cars and got the following response 3 days later. I have removed the sellers signature.

Sellers response to my inquiry:

"Hi, thanks for interest and please excuse my late answer, I was very busy all week, I'm an architect, my husband as well. If you're still interested I would like to know if you have your own funds and if you can pick up in Virginia Beach or need shipping. Thank you XXXX"

My response to above:

XXXXX,
I have the money / funds. I would pick the car up. Please provide me with a contact number to reach you or you can call me at ***-***-XXXX.
Thank you,

Sellers response: