Does this smell like a scam

TowDawg

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Finally got a response back. We'll see how long I can keep it going.

Yes, I have cash and live in Norfolk, so there will be no need at all for shipping. Can I come see it today or tomorrow? It seems like a great deal and I want to jump on it before someone else does. Please let me know ASAP.

Thanks!

To: [email protected]
Sent: Sat, February 12, 2011 1:30:46 PM
Subject: RE: Cars.com used car lead for Viper SRT-10 - 2005 Dodge Viper

Hi, thanks for interest and please excuse my late answer, I was very busy all week, I'm an architect, my husband as well. If you're still interested I would like to know if you have your own funds and if you can pick up in Virginia Beach or need shipping. Thank you, Linda & Frank Carter

Subject: Cars.com used car lead for Viper SRT-10 - 2005 Dodge Viper
CC: [email protected]
Date: Tue, 8 Feb 2011 08:35:59 -0600

Interested Buyer from Cars.com

This message is a request from Steve Lanford who is interested in the 2005 Dodge Viper you advertised on Cars.com. Please respond to this prospective buyer as soon as possible.

Please reply directly to the prospective buyer's email address, as messages sent back to Cars.com will not be routed to the prospective buyer.

Thank you for using Cars.com.

Sincerely,
Cars.com Consumer Support
New & Used Cars for Sale, Auto Dealers, Car Reviews and Car Finance Advice
FRAUD ALERT: DON'T FALL FOR INTERNET SCAMS.
Do not accept certified checks for more than your asking price
Do not accept a deal that requires you to wire money to buyer
Use only reputable, well-known escrow Web sites that YOU designate
Report fraud at [email protected] For more information, visit our Safe Buying & Selling blog or our Fraud Awareness tips
Prospective Buyer