1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DRB III Reverse Engineering Project

Discussion in 'General Viper Discussion' started by MoparMap, Oct 21, 2019.

1. MoparMap

MoparMap VCA National President

So the other day I picked up a Miller 6990 kit, which has the control arm bushing remover/installer, the caster fixtures (for gen 2 unfortunately), and the inclinometers and switchbox used by the DRB III to read caster. I don't have a DRB III, but I have some background in sensors as I helped to set up the test department where I work and deal with sensors and DAQ equipment on and off. I figured the sensors were probably typical 0-5V output or 4-20 mA like most lab style sensors you can find for data acquisition systems. My thought was I would plumb the signals into a simple microcontroller like an Arduino or even just a volt meter and figure out what angle corresponds to what output. Well, I was wrong. These sensors are a little more complicated than I was expecting, so I'm wondering if anyone out there has any background knowledge of the DRB III tool.

I took the switchbox and sensors apart and pulled the numbers off of all the chips I could see inside and have been trying to trace the wiring to get an idea of what goes to what. As best I can tell and guess, the switchbox itself outputs an RS232 signal to the DRB III. That in and of itself would be easy enough to read with most microcontrollers. I think the DRB also supplies 12V to the switchbox over the cable, which is not exactly in the RS232 standard pinout, but makes some sense. I haven't tried hooking it up to anything to try to intercept data just yet, so I don't know if the sensor just constantly outputs data without being asked or if it will require a request for data before it sends. That is the big question I have right now I'm hoping someone might know.