Forgeline SX3 Installation Issues

GR8_ASP

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I have been doing a brake installation and new 18 inch Forgeline SX3's. The rear hit the e-brake which I kind of expected. But the front touches the caliper brake line (to the rear face of the center hub) and the bleeder rubber cap.

Has anyone else installed Forgelines and encountered this?

SCLSSRT10

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I assume you mean SX3R wheels. Assuming that is correct you need to use 1/2" spacers on those wheel to avoid hitting the brake caliper. The spacers are available from Archer Racing or Bobby Archer. Along with the spacers you need to either replace the stock lugs with longer ones and use open lug nuts or get the special lug nuts from Forgeline that have a "funnel" shape which allow for about 4+ threads to go down into the wheel for enough thread length to be safe. I have been using these lug nuts for two years and have not had any problems.

Make sure you check the bolts that hold the wheel together about twice a year as they do have a tendancy to loosen up which will be a problem. They should be tightened to 28ftlbs. This is not any kind of defect it is just the nature of the beast. If you have any additional questions give me a call.

OP
OP
G

GR8_ASP

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Thanks Steve. They are SX3 and not SX3R. Not sure what the differences are as they look the same.

It looks like the interference is only about 1 mm statically. Not sure how much deflection it sees the though. A 1/2 inch spacer would space the wheels out quite a bit and may look odd. I wonder if they have thinner spacers (just a thought).

ViperGMC

Viper Owner
Reaction score