Motive pressure brake bleeder; Any Good?

JayW1

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I have read some old threads on the Motive brake bleeder and there was some concern of the adapter not sealing well on the master cylinder. Someone recommended a Ford 3 prong cap and claimed that took care of the issue. I have a 2000 GTS with stock master cylinder. Does anyone have any experience with this? Seems like an easy and inexpensive way to bleed the brakes if it works properly.

ViperBite

Viper Owner
Reaction score
If I recall this is the concept of purging via pressure versus pulling versus vacuum. If so, I have one and don't like it and will not use on the Viper again. Takes too long to set up, assure a seal, etc. Concept is good but I guess the old fashion way works best and is alot faster.

I do use others that draw a vacuum and like those best when convincing the wife to sit in the car and push the pedal does not work.

95Viper

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I will never use anything else. I screwed around with mine and the universal adapter on a pickup until I realized the real ticket is to ensure you get the dedicated cap. Non ABS Vipers use the Ford 3 prong cap. Motive has ABS caps too. Just call them.

Steps? Attach cap and Motive, pump up empty to 20lbs, validate no leaks, open Motive, add fluid, pump up again, open bleeder valve at wheel, close, check Motive and pump back up, do other 3 wheels, turn Motive on side so pickup tube is not in fluid, open valve again which will stop pushing fluid and bring reservoir to level, close valve, release pressure on Motive, remove cap, clean up. So simple a caveman can do it.

The real benefit is that this is a continual amount of pressure throughout the bleeding process. The old school way of starting and stopping while pushing the pedal allows air bubbles to stay at high points in the lines. Is it a disaster? No but I like the Motive way.

Cop Magnet

Enthusiast
Reaction score