New to Viper: Performance Driving Questions

lilviv

Viper Owner
Reaction score
Hi guys, I am new to the Viper, got my first one last week or so. I've had fun driving it, put around 300 miles or so on it, so far. But, I had a couple questions I was hoping you veterans could help me with!

I have a '99 GTS with Corsa Exhaust and K&N's, Cold Air Box . . . so basically stock. Stock wheels and stock Pilot Sports.

1) What is the optimal shift point?
2) I noticed there is a yellow line and a red line. Is it safe to run all the way through the yellow into (or right at) the red?
3) If you are into the yellow, is that somehow detrimental to the car?
4) Is there a rev. limiter on the car (didn't want to try to find it by over-revving)?
5) Also, what RPM in near stock form (like mine) is best to launch the car at to get the optimal 60' time from zero?

Thanks guys, and sorry for the stupid questions! I'm a newbie and want to learn and get this down!

plumcrazy

Enthusiast
Reaction score
if those are original tires...get rid of them.

i like to shift at around what looks like 5500 rpm's (probably higher by the time it happens)

the rev limiter is like 7000 rpm's i think. if you hit it, you'll know it. the car sputters and stammers.

dont ask me as i cant launch a viper on a track to save my life...lol

Chuck 98 RT/10

Enthusiast
Reaction score
1. Optimal for what? 5200-5400 for performance. 2000-3000 for mileage.
2. Yes, although why you would I don't know.
3. Only as much as the wear caused by the extra rpms.
4. Yes. 6200.
5. Depends on your style.

Detlef

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I am no expert, but when I dynoed my GTS, I noticed the torque curve to drop off after around 5,200 RPM, so may make sense to shift around that speed.

RobZ

Viper Owner
Reaction score
Well I had some free time soooooo............

Here is a dyno of my stockish '97 GTS (K&N's and smooth tubes) at 3000 ft on a Mustang AWD Dyno. Same setup did 422 RWHP and 466 RWTQ on a Dynojet.