New Viper Convertible on order-Can I trust my Dealer?

David Shapiro

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi All.
I'm brand new to this forum and to Vipers. I have a new convertible on order. I actually put a deposit down a year and a half ago, and was told by my local dealer that I was THIRD on the list at that time. I recently called them and they told me that it was too early to specify colors, etc. What can I expect from the dealer? Will they honor list price?
I have some experience in dealer gouging since I have a Ferrari 550. My local Ferrari dealer loves to mark up cars, but they do have a strict policy of MSRP for customers who put down a deposit and waited.

Thanks,
David Shapiro

Joseph Houss

Former VCA National President
VCA Officer
Reaction score
David,

Here's how the 2003 SRT orders worked:

Certificates were available to current Viper owners only, who bought their Vipers new. Each qualified owner was allowed to access a website, or specific phone lines, to order their certificate. These certificates were then sent out to the lucky participants, and they in turn, could visit ANY Dodge dealer and order their car, which all have done. The color WAS requested on the order form (choices were silver, black or red). There were a few certificates that were not returned, and persons were picked from the waiting list (of valid, but tardy qualified participants) and they now have the last remaining certificates.

If your dealer has offered you a car, but you were NOT a current Viper owner, did not get a certificate, and did not submit the certificate to your friendly Dodge dealer, any deal you have with him is an "after market" deal. In other words, he either has found a person with a certificate (I doubt it or he would have told you what color your getting), or he's assuming that he'll be able to broker a car, after they start to be delivered (and I can assure you, at that point, you will probably pay a premium).