New Viper Owner in Idaho!

scottmarston

Viper Owner
Reaction score
Hey guys. I bought my Vipe about 8 months ago from a cop in Sacramento, CA. It's got 21,500 miles (I've put on 5,000 of those since last July) and I can't imagine how I lived this long without it. It's a '95 convertible, black with gray stripes. I'm 27 years old, not much of a gear head, but I'm an electrical/controls engineer and I'm excited to get to know how she tics. A few starter questions and pardon me if these have already been asked or answered but I'm anxious to get answers:

I'm running between the 190 - 225 degrees F range in the summer. High temps in Boise can get into the low 100's. Do I need to consider flushing the system? Perhaps a new thermostat? I did have to fill the reservoir up with a 50/50 mix not to long ago...I put in quite a bit of fluid. Is there a horrible instance where the block can have just a big enough crack to where the coolant seeps out, but boils off so quickly that you can't trace it? Advice?

I'm also looking for a soft top for some piece of mind against the rain.

Lastly...what's the yellow arrow light that comes on every time I start out in first gear?

Thanks in advance!

2snakes4us

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Do I need to consider flushing the system? Perhaps a new thermostat? I did have to fill the reservoir up with a 50/50 mix not to long ago Flush the system and refill, and add some wetter water to help keep it cooler
Lastly...what's the yellow arrow light that comes on every time I start out in first gear? That is your skip shift. if you do not have one yet installed ...install one its easy and a cheap fix.

Thanks in advance!
your most welcome

OP
OP
S

scottmarston

Viper Owner
Reaction score
Is holy water wetter than tap water? Can I use oil or just *** in it? I'll definately be getting me one of those skip shift eliminators...

forexx4

Enthusiast
Reaction score