Newbie here, looking to buy a Viper GTS.. TY

1vipergtssoon

Enthusiast
Reaction score
hi,
Im a new memeber here. Im looking to get a Viper GTS either a 98, 0r 2000. Ive NEVER test driven a viper before. Ive had porsches, and now a M3 BMW. Is the viper GTS a very hard car to drive? I hear mix stories, most being that its hairy. Where is a good source to find a viper GTS in CA? What should I look for, when buying used. Also is this car very reliable, i plan on driving it often, to work, and short trips. Thanks again.

Viperzilla

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Just do research before buying.

The GTS isn't that hard to drive. I'm an avid Viper enthusiast, I've ridden in 2 500 hp/540 lb-ft GTS, and one Heffner supercharged 651 hp GTS. I've driven one of the GTS's aforementioned (2000 model year) twice. Clutch is good for its power (not too stiff in my opinion), and brake pedal feel and strength is good. The only thing I had problems with in the first drive was the way the car followed ruts. Only noticed it once, almost clipped the curb because the ruts in that spot were so bad. Gear shifting is a little stiff at first, but I like it.

BTW, I'm 19 and the only manual car I've driven before the Viper was a 91 Mazda 323 with 95 lb-ft and 82 HP. No problems aclimating myself to the GTS.

YouWish

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Get a 98 gts if you can find one. Has power windows,a/c,best factory wheel design,lumpy cam,more receptive to mods. Yeah i'm biased i have one. :D

Jays_01_GTS

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I just got my first viper a week ago after a significant amount of research. It's good timing for you to buy now because it's currently a buyers market. I bought my car from dodgevipersforsale.com and they are great people, you may want to check them out they are in CA.