Question about oil change please......

arian23

Enthusiast
Reaction score
hi i am new to this viper forum and i needed help for changing the oil on my 94 RT/10. i have been trying to find out the engine oil capacity on the car and i have got a few different answers. On this forum in the specs section it says 11.5 qts. with the lines and oil cooler, and and dealer told me 9 qts. if someone can please help me out with this i would really apprieciate it. Also in the specs section in this forum it shows that a 96 viper holds less oil than the earlier ones. im just a little confused. thanks!!

JonB

Legacy\Supporting Vendor
Supporting Vendor
Reaction score
hi i am new to this viper forum and i needed help for changing the oil on my 94 RT/10. i have been trying to find out the engine oil capacity on the car and i have got a few different answers. On this forum in the specs section it says 11.5 qts. with the lines and oil cooler, and and dealer told me 9 qts. if someone can please help me out with this i would really apprieciate it. Also in the specs section in this forum it shows that a 96 viper holds less oil than the earlier ones. im just a little confused. thanks!!

Welcome. THE YEAR MATTERS !
Year-match is a problem for some dealers, and for some info posted here. A guy SWEARS his info is correct, and it IS.... (for his year.) And in 2 of the year models, 93 and 96, the answer will be different on many questions mid-year!

Your correct answer is as shown on this site: 11 Qt, IF-IF-IF you can successfully drain the oil cooler and lines (front end elevated). It is likley that you will be hard-pressed to get 10 qts in. Stop adding, Run up, and check after adding 9.5-10q. DO NOT OVERFILL

And PAY ATTENTION to your coolant overlow bottle under your RF headlight (!), and the surge tank atop the RF wheel arch. Keep your coolant full, and NO AIR in the system. Head gaskets WILL FAIL in 1994, and having air trapped in the system hastens their demise.....