1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Radio

Discussion in 'SRT10 and SRT10 Coupe Discussions' started by Atlanta Viper, Jan 21, 2021.

Tags:
  1. Atlanta Viper

    Atlanta Viper Enthusiast

    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2021
    Location:
    Dunwoody
    I just bought a 2006 Viper convertible (haven't received it yet. It's shipping In a week or two) and the seller just told me that he took the car into a dealer to correct a recall and when the car came back the factory radio didn't work. Does anyone know what that could be and how difficult it will be to correct?

    Thanks,

    J.
     
  2. MoparMap

    MoparMap VCA National President Venom Member

    Posts:
    1,747
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Location:
    Kansas
    Sounds like maybe they just didn't plug a harness back in. They have to take out the center console pieces to get to the module that was recalled, so it would be fairly possible that they just didn't get everything reattached when putting it back together. Might be the plug just isn't fully seated in the radio.
     
  3. B-DiamondViper

    B-DiamondViper Enthusiast

    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Location:
    Washington State
    Let me know if the radio ends up being bad. I am taking mine in next week to have a whole new system installed so I will have an OEM radio available.
     
  4. Gordon

    Gordon Enthusiast

    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2020
    Location:
    Scottsdale Arizona
    I agree, most likely the the plug when they took the center and vertical panel off. I also have a stock/upgraded radio that is available. You will find that you will eventually want the radio and back speaker upgraded / replaced - easy to do both with mounting kit and after-market wire harness.
     
  5. littlecaars

    littlecaars VCA Venom Member Venom Member

    Age:
    75
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Location:
    Mohnton, pa.
    Don’t know if Viper falls in this category but some cars needed a code to be sent if at any time the radio went without power. Just thought I’d throw that out. Don’t think it applies to this case.
     

Share This Page