SCAM Alert!!!!!

RC Viper

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Overthe past few weeks I have been looking for a new Viper and have come upon three instances where someone was running a scam. The ads have been on Auto Trader and I have reported them.

Here is the reply to the note that I got back when inquiring about a 2006 Viper Coupe.

Hi Randy,

The car is still for sale. The asking price is $34,700. It is located in Sugar Land, TX and the VIN is 1B3JZ69Z96V100738. The car is registered on my name and the title is clear (no lien). It is in great condition, no dents or scratches. It was always garaged and the regular maintenance was done in time. It wasn't involved in any accident and has never suffered any kind of damage. Also this is a non-smoker car. If you have any questions regarding the car or you want extra photos or the CARFAX report (for free) just let me know!

I'm a pilot on cargo flights. My wife broke up with me recently because I'm always away from home. We just sold our house and split the money. This is the last thing I need to sell and split the money with her.
Because I'm away most of the time I will not be able to deal in person. But I've already arranged the shipping and the title transfer anywhere in the US. I will pay the shipping fees.

I want the payment to be handled by Yahoo! Shopping Buyer Protection. They will keep the money until you will receive and inspect the car. You will have 7 days of inspection period. If the car is not like described you will have to ship it back on my expense and they will give you a full refund. This way, you will be able to inspect the vehicle before committing to buy it and I know that you have the money and you aren't just fooling around.

Giving the nature of this transaction please note that my sale terms are final and nonnegotiable. In order to move forward I will need your full name, address and phone number.