Slicks vs DOT race tires

Slammed

Viper Owner
Reaction score
I'm trying to decide whether to go with slicks or DOT race tires like Hoosiers or Goodrich on my 02 GTS when I start doing track time (road racing) this spring. I plan to use my OE wheels. I was wondering if the slicks were faster then the DOT and which does better for weekend after weekend of use (heat cycling)? If anyone has some experience with either or both let me know. I'll be trailering the car to the track so no legal issue.

luc

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Slicks will be faster than DOT but, if you have never been on the track B4, you should start on regular street tires, they will be plenty fast enough and give you better feedback until your driving skills progress to the point that the car/tires is the limiting factor and not you the driver.
DOT will last longer than slicks.
Open track/track time is NOT road racing.
You seems, and there is nothing wrong with it, we all started there, to be a complete novice.
You will have to start in open-track, in the novice group, and work your way up the ladder until you and your car are ready for racing.
believe me, at the begining ,Miatas are going to be faster than you, put your ego aside and learn.

Luc 00GTS (garage queen) 1991 Roush Mustang T/A (ex Tommy Kendall)

I'm trying to decide whether to go with slicks or DOT race tires like Hoosiers or Goodrich on my 02 GTS when I start doing track time (road racing) this spring. I plan to use my OE wheels. I was wondering if the slicks were faster then the DOT and which does better for weekend after weekend of use (heat cycling)? If anyone has some experience with either or both let me know. I'll be trailering the car to the track so no legal issue.

Chuck 98 RT/10

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I pretty much agree with Luc. I would add another advantage of street tires, depending on which you get, they will last longer while you tune your skills which will result in big money saving.