Thoughts on this car for occasional track days please.

waddiisme

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I posted this in the GTS section, but thought I could get some detailed feedback here.

http://www.autotrader.com/fyc/vdp.j...e=b&num_records=25&cardist=104&standard=false

I already have an '02 Z06 that I have been tracking for almost 5 years and have always liked the VIPER. Was thinking about getting one for occassional track duty at VIR/RD ATL, a daily driver and tinker toy. This is the closest GTS around as I prefer the hardtop. I would basically be keeping it thru the summer and fall and maybe sell later in the year. Just curious about maintenance, dependability, tracking disposables (pads, rotors, tires etc), and resale probability. I have trolled thru a few threads since I found this forum. It seems to be the most active. Thanks in advance for your thoughts and input.

Leslie

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Roadracing...?

I had an '02Z06 that I tracked for 5 yrs as well, kept my '01GTS as a Sunday driver. I sold the vette and am having more fun than ever in the Viper at the track!

I have found rotors to be more expensive, pads as well. There are some things you would need to do to get it track ready...right fluids, alignment/lower it, maybe some suspension changes, depending on your budget.

Overall I think the Viper has cost me more to track than my Z06 did, but parts seem to last a bit longer and the FUN factor doesn't even come Close to the vette!

MTGTS

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I'd find one with some track oriented mods (BBK, suspension, etc.) you might pay a little more up front but will be cheaper in the long run

OP
OP
W

waddiisme

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Roadracing...?

Overall I think the Viper has cost me more to track than my Z06 did, but parts seem to last a bit longer and the FUN factor doesn't even come Close to the vette!