1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Two best gauges to add to a pillar gauge pod

Discussion in 'RT/10 and GTS Discussions' started by Bluvenm97, Jun 11, 2011.

  1. Bluvenm97

    Bluvenm97 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    209
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    I'm purchasing two Autometer gauges to fill a pillar mounted gauge pod I bought for the GTS, and was wondering what the experts on this site think the two best choices would be?

    I was thinking an Oil Temp gauge and something else, but not sure what, there are so many choices!
    The pod takes 2 1/16" gauges, and my Viper is not boosted..

    Any input would help, thanks all :usa:
     
  2. JohnnyViper

    JohnnyViper Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,077
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    wide band air fuel ratio gauge!!!!!!!!!!
     
  3. Bluvenm97

    Bluvenm97 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    209
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    Oh I forgot to mention funds are limited, so the A/F gauge with the o2 sensor kit is more than what I wanted for now..

    Maybe fuel pressure?
     
  4. speedracervr4

    speedracervr4 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    Lancaster, PA
    Depends on the mods or future mods. I would suggest A/F gauge before any other and fuel pressure gauge if you plan on going F.I. A good Fuel pressure gauge is going to cost almost as much as a A/F.
     
  5. sliverstripeacr

    sliverstripeacr Viper Owner

    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    I was thinking of doing the same, any other suggestions?
     
  6. JohnnyViper

    JohnnyViper Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,077
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    if you want looks than get a narrow band A/F, they are cheap and you can wire into your existing o2 but they are not accurate but will fill up one of the pod holes
     
  7. JohnnyViper

    JohnnyViper Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,077
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    also check out ebay and glow shift gauges, decent gauge for cheap money
     
  8. Mutts02GTS

    Mutts02GTS Viper Owner

    Posts:
    514
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Location:
    Dixon, Ca
    Who carries the pillar pod gauge mounts? Thanks
     
  9. speedracervr4

    speedracervr4 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    Lancaster, PA
    I know Roe has them...
     
  10. speedracervr4

    speedracervr4 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    Lancaster, PA
    Narrow band gauges are a waste of money!! Save up if you have to and get a wideband!! Most ebay gauges are hit and miss on how long they work. I would stick to the name brand gauges.
     
  11. JohnnyViper

    JohnnyViper Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,077
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    i agree narrow band are a waste of money but honestly if you are not doing wide band or a shift light in a gauge pod on a NA car other gauges have no place unless you are doing if for look, if its looks you are after and do not want to spend a few hundred on a good wide band then it does not matter what type of gauges you put in or if the manufacture is brand name...seems that the OP is looking for looks, correct me if I am wrong and if so just save your $$$ and buy on ebay the gauges you think will look cool also glow shift was know for cheaper quality less accurate gauges in the past but their new lines over the last few years have been getting very positive review and have been getting their gauges in more serious import tuners car not just the wannabe crappy civics
     
  12. Bluvenm97

    Bluvenm97 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    209
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    I guess it was partially for looks, and partially because I like having a lot of information / instruments to look at (used to be a pilot)..I just like that kind of stuff..

    The A/F sounds intriguing, but would it really do anything for me if I'm not tuning the car past bolt ons and a stock PCM?
     
  13. speedracervr4

    speedracervr4 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    Lancaster, PA
    A/F gauge can be a good tool for diagnosing problems as well. A bad 02 sensor may cause the PCM to dump fuel and you'll notice it right away because your gauge will peg dead rich at certain RPMS. Vacuum leaks may also be evident in the A/F. I don't understand the whole doing gauges for looks thing, but to each their own. What type of budget are you looking at?
     
  14. Black Moon

    Black Moon Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,730
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Why bother? Aren't all systems already monitored with the stock gauges? I don't see the point unless you are FI. If you just like the looks then maybe a nice clock and outside temp. gauge.
     
  15. Black Moon

    Black Moon Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,730
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Don't laugh but on second thought what would be wicked cool would be an altimeter gauge going with the pilot theme. It would be unique and a great conversation piece. Stop laughing, I'm serious. Well forget about it then. I'll go back to the gen 3 forum :(
     
  16. DrumrBoy

    DrumrBoy Enthusiast

    Posts:
    2,614
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Location:
    GA
    Chad has a Hooters-Locator gauge in his. Not a GPS, more like a compass...it just always points in the general direction of the nearest Hooters.
     
  17. Mopar Steve

    Mopar Steve Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,871
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2000
    Location:
    Newark DE
    This thread is amusing. Usually the plan is just the opposite. Someone has gauges they actually need, and are looking for a location. This sounds more like decorating the interior. I like the altimeter idea, and a narrow band F/A has pretty lights.
     
  18. RapidTransit

    RapidTransit Viper Owner

    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    Concord,Ca
    A clock to see how much time has gone by thinking about gauges you don't need....:)
     
  19. Jance GTS

    Jance GTS Viper Owner

    Posts:
    997
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Location:
    Elk City, Oklahoma
    I've never bought any but I've looked at buying some for my truck from Megan Racing. They have really nice displays that are LED's. They even have a clock ;)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Good prices on ebay.
     
  20. blackandblue01

    blackandblue01 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Location:
    Bowling Green, Ky
    You could always by a cheap gauge and then put a sneaky pete logo sticker over it. So the spot is still available for a future needed guage. just a thought.
     
  21. Fatboy 18

    Fatboy 18 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Surrey, United Kingdom
    What about Push Button Engine start?
     

Share This Page