Valve Surgery Complete

RC Viper

Enthusiast
Reaction score
On Thursday the 29th of May my newborn (car that is) was transported to Wilmington N.C. to undergo major valve surgery with Dr. Tom Sessions as the attending surgeon and yours truly as the physician's assistant.

The surgery was difficult, but was a complete success.

I'm sure readers of this board know from my previous posts on this topic that I was not thrilled that this "maintenance action" needed to be performed on my brand new car. The good news is that both my car and my sanity were preserved.

To help other SRT owners understand the process a bit better listed below I have included a general procedure with some pictures. A few of the steps may
be out of order, but you will get the general idea. This is my first time posting pictures so if they don't come out they can be viewed in the Media
Section under the RC Viper gallery.

Procedure:

We started by covering the fenders and front of the car with thick 100% cotton
towels to protect the finish and the battery was accessed through the trunk and disconnected.

Next we removed part of the cowl to give us more room to operate under the hood.

The airbox was removed and then the Intake Manifold (including an amazing
number of connectors and sensors).

The valve covers were next on the agenda followed by removal of the rockers and push rods.

To prepare the heads for removal; we then had to loosen the exhaust system at the collectors, so we could drop the exhaust headers. Next came the spark plug guides, wire retainers, and spark plugs.

Once the prep work was done, we then removed the actual heads and replaced the defective valves with the new valves (after cleaning up both the heads and top of the block). The difference in the defective valves and new valves is small, but I think you can see the extra line on the shiny valve. This line is the extra cut on the valve that was missing on the original factory valve.