Worst teaser campaign ever

Kaneda

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Sorry, but Dodge has no clue how to tease such an exciting car. Obscure photo teasers? I mean, that's so 2002. With so many more interesting and compelling ways to tease a car, why are they even bothering with this lame facebook photo reveal campaign. I work in marketing for a living and it just kills me when brands can't think creatively at all, especially when the thing being marketed has such a passionate following. Here are some ideas I would have done if I were Dodge:

1. Release an audio track of the car accelerating
2. Video of a 2010 ACR trying to chase down the new car at a secret track. Blur out the rear end, but just seeing how the new car moves and pulls away would be amazing.
3. Do something that jabs at the ZR1 - I would have invited every ZR1 owner to the gala this week and make that invite a piece of content
4. Release the WRONG images. - This is probably the best and most amazing thing a car company could ever do. I would totally have released images of a car that was viper-like but a little underwhelming. Create hysteria amongst the die hards. Then pull back the curtain and reveal something 10x better.

Too many marketing campaigns play it safe. Too many campaigns don't create an interesting narrative that has ups and downs, tension and resolution. This campaign has been crap. Don't even get me started on how much of a mistake it was to not have Clint Eastwood end his historic super bowl ad with the reveal of the Viper. If there is one car that symbolizes american muscle and determination it's the viper.

GreenVenom

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Since you work in marketing why didn't you get your "insider" to get you the job of promoting the Gen V? :dunno:

01viper4me

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I like your ideas and they would have been very cool to see (with the exception of the ZR1 jabs IMO).