24 hours with a SRT Red Launch Edition

former345bhpLS1

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Recently I had the immense privilege of renting a Gen V for 24 hours from Club Sportiva in the Bay Area (they are located primarily in the Bay Area / San Jose, but also have a location in SoCal called Marina Del Rey). BTW, the experience with Club Sportiva was excellent. Very straightforward, funny issues or fines. Just like borrowing a car for a day from a friend (never payed my friends a $1000 for a car borrow, but some things can't carry over).

Anyway, back to the important part...the Car! I'm writing this, of course, for those who have not yet driven the car or only driven it for a short time. My background is a serious Viper fan who has never owned. My closest friend (Dave), who also joined me for the Gen V rental, is a former 97 GTS owner who sold his car 10 years ago. He put 40,000 miles on his Gen 2 and was kind enough to let me put 3000 miles on it over 3.5 years. I owned a 98 C5 coupe at the time. Since then, Dave has owned several other interesting cars and currently has a 2009 Z06 and a 2009 911 C2S PDK. He brought the 911 up for the trip and it allowed for a few back to back comparisons.

We rented the car because we are both very interested in buying one in the not so distant future, but neither of us have driven a Viper since 2003 (I drove 2 other Gen2s as well, both 2001s that were similar, but felt slightly toned down compared to the 97 GTS...possibly due to their stock exhaust which is disturbingly quiet). We feared that much of the Viper magic would have been engineered out over the years, especially with the new "refinement" of the Gen V. It seemed that the new Gen V was likely to feel like a faster Z06, extremely capable, but not very interesting unless you are driving the car extremely hard (like on the track). We couldn't have been more wrong!