Buying out of state, far out of state

Hyru

Viper Owner
Reaction score
I say out of state, but specifically, the Viper im looking to buy in coming into Canada.

My question is this: what would be the best way to assure reliability and such? The seller of the vehicle assures me the car is well maintained, has a clean carfax (i checked), and is mechanically smooth (has only 20k miles).

However, it still seems a bit iffy to buy a $40k car just like tha. Unfortunately, hes located pretty far from me... plane flight and such would be additional costs that Id like to avoid. On top of that, Im not a mechanic either.

So the idea was to have the car taken to a local Dodge dealership and have their viper "tech" take a look at the car and hook it up to the computers, etc etc. But the problem with this is, it coems with no reliability. Whos to blame if something goes wrong? Who takes responsibility? I know its a used vehicle ad no one is gona give you 100% satisfaction guarantee on paper, but what would be the best way to check out the car?

For what its worth, the car is located in Kingston, Pennsylvania. Im in Toronto, Canada myself. It'd be great if there was a place like Tator's Dodge to completely run the car over, but I have no idea whats in that pennsylvania area... and a Dodge dealer isnt sitting right with me 100%.

Any suggestions? :dunno:

OP
OP
H

Hyru

Viper Owner
Reaction score
Thanks Ven, but I dont think I can post on the PA forum unless I have a membership, is that correct?

V

Venomiss

Thanks Ven, but I dont think I can post on the PA forum unless I have a membership, is that correct?

Don't know about that but you can call-it's in the site for you.:)
Denny and his wife Ginger head up the club. Very nice members who might be able to steer you in the right direction.

Contact Us​
You can contact the PA-WV Viper Club by e-mail at [email protected].
You can contact us by phone at 570-662-3103.
You can contact us by regular mail at
Viper Club of America,