Can someone explain why I made more power?

dragon rider

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I'm not complaining, but today I went to the dyno today with some GA club members and made 11 more rwhp and and 4 more rwt. Now I make 490 and 525. This is the same dyno that I use all of the time for consistency. The only mods since my last trip to the dyno are changing from 10 spoke to the light weight 6 spoke, Eurotech rotors and Woodhouse motor and tranny mounts. It was also 20 degrees cooler the last time I dynoed. Does a tune take a certain amount of miles to reach its full potential? The old motor mounts were broken the last time on the dyno, will that effect hp? Does a reduction in rotational was gain hp? :usa:

IEATVETS

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I am by no means an expert but I believe that air temperature and humidity have some effect on your numbers. I am sure those in the know will chime in.

OP
OP
D

dragon rider

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Thanks IEATVETS. My post is a little confusing about the temp. It was 70 deg today 50 deg the time before. I made more power in worse weather. Oh yea, these numbers are sae correct so it supposed to keep things consistent.

SweetRed04

Viper Owner
Reaction score
It is likely you used an inertia type dyno (one that doesn't generate or dissipate power) - the ones with that accelerate a large roller.

Then your lighter wheels will show up as higher HP as well as the lower temperature, which puts more oxygen per cfm of air ingested into your engine....

That could easily change your power readings the amount you saw between runs.

Twister

Enthusiast
Reaction score
also keep this in mind...

i have dynoed 5 differant vehicle over the past 6 years and I dyno EVRYTHING I do..

id take a wild guess and say I probally have well over 100 dyno pulls..maybe more like 150.

All on the same dyno jet as well..

THESE VIPER ENGINES ARE HUGE 8.0-8.4 BEASTE!!!!