1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Console power outlet no worky, ideas?

Discussion in 'SRT10 and SRT10 Coupe Discussions' started by DMan, Jul 4, 2012.

  1. DMan

    DMan Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,855
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Maryland
    I've never tried to use it til now and it's dead, weird. Before I start trying to figure out why, anyone have this problem or an idea on it? Does it have it's own fuse?
     
  2. Allan

    Allan Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,546
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    La Junta Colorado 81050
    If I'm not mistaken, I think it does have it's own fuse.
     
  3. JPUConn

    JPUConn Viper Owner

    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Location:
    CT
    Yep it has it's own fuse that also powers the OBD plug under the dash... I found mine was blown after failing emissions due to no readout on the obd.
     
  4. DMan

    DMan Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,855
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Maryland
    Got it, labelled Cigar Lighter. But looks like its not the fuse, if I located the right one anyway, I swapped it and still nada. I guess that would've been too easy.
     
  5. Mutts02GTS

    Mutts02GTS Viper Owner

    Posts:
    514
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Location:
    Dixon, Ca
    Did your car come with a short throw shifter? During a shifter install you have to remove the center console cover, when doing this you unplug the connector for the lighter and the power windows, the connector could have been left disconnected or is not fully seated, just my .02. Jeff
     
  6. TowDawg

    TowDawg Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,105
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    Check the plug in the back of it. Mine has come loose before.
     
  7. DMan

    DMan Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,855
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Maryland
    No short throw, but yea that's my next step, I'll pull the console and bezel and poke around, lol. Hopefully just loose or something. Funny, I've never needed it and once I find it doesn't work I've got to fix it. Us car guys. Thnx!
     
  8. DholiRaja209

    DholiRaja209 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Location:
    Turlock, Ca
    Don't mean to steal this thread. But my Map light in my gen 3 hasn't worked ever since I did the LED install on my guauges and interior lights. None of the fuses are out under the hood. Is there another fuse box location? I am getting no current on the cable that hooks on to the back of the rear view mirror and the red security light is also out as well. Any info would be helpful guys.
     
  9. TowDawg

    TowDawg Viper Owner

    Posts:
    2,105
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    No need to remove the bezel. Just pull the plastic console piece up. Much easier to get at the lighter plug from the passenger seat.
    Also, I assume you're talking about the lighter outlet and not the one in the console? Same process for the one in the console, but it's easier to get to from the driver's seat.
     
  10. Sonoman

    Sonoman Viper Owner

    Posts:
    424
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Location:
    Sonoma Cownty
    I believe the forward +12V pop-up outlet is switched by the key and the one in the covered console box is always on. So they are on two different fuses, and the forward outlet won't work with the car's ignition key off.
     
  11. DMan

    DMan Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,855
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Maryland
    Yea that's right, the forward one is referred to as switched and has a 20 fuse of its own. The one that's not working is in the console, which is why I've never used it I guess, but went to use for my phone for a change to charge it in the console. Had to celebrate the 4th with the fam, but hope to solve tomorrow. Thnx.
     

Share This Page