cooling questions

johncbourg

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Ok here is it goes:

The car runs between the 3 hash marks in the center of the coolant gauge.

The fan does come on once it gets past the 3rd hash mark so that ok.

The thermostat should open up before this right?

I'm able to collapse the upper hose by hand causing level gyrations in the overflow tank.

The upper hose is warm but not super hard like I would think you would expect. It feels more like pressure (i'm no expert)

I'm not sure when the hoses were replaced if ever..the car had 5400 miles when I bought it, and now has 7200 miles

Do I need to replace the T-stat?

Thanks

Martin

Enthusiast
Reaction score
It sounds like your car is cooling perfectly well - most people with cooling questions are asking because the car will never run within the three middle hashmarks. If the car is ten years old, it wouldn't hurt to swap out the hoses. After you do that, though, then you'll be asking why it runs so hot :) Then you'll get into the whole 'proper burping' procedure. Mine ran just like yours until I did a coolant replacement, and now it runs about 20-30 degrees hotter. I just haven't had the time to properly burp it again.

jdeft1

Enthusiast
Reaction score
+1 to Martin.. You may also want to replace the pressure cap (cheap item at a local parts place) unless you have the equipment to test it...

On my gen 1, the stat opens at 192+/- (probably)
The fan starts at 225..or so.

It's normal for the gage to cycle from center position to 225 on warm days or in traffic. A/C "on" keeps the fan running and will stabilize the "cycling"...

Olddudesrule

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Martin hit the nail on the head. Your system sounds like it's running perfectly normal. Make sure the overflow bottle in the front right facia is at the correct level, and enjoy the car. If it's time for a coolant flush, be prepared to burb it completely, or you WILL have higher running temps than you do now.