Edge Addicts, NOT all instructors are the same.

VIPER GTSR 91

Enthusiast
Reaction score
As an instructor myself for novice only (its too scary otherwise) there is a lot more to it than just teaching. You need to have a positive personality with the driver. Friendly, easy going, relaxed, and NOT impressed with yourself. At COTA I had several instructors ride with me since I had not been on the track before. And having several instructors at an event or over time you gain a lot of insight from different thoughts and techniques, just like golf, baseball, or any other sports. The first day both instructors were really good and I got a lot out of the stints from them. The second day was a disaster as I ended up with someone who was impressed with himself, not relaxed, and not a good communicator. Even before getting in the car he was very wound up, emotional, and even stated that this was a check ride??? Really? I knew this was not going to be fun. He was a constant chatter box and hard to understand as you can only take in so much information at a time. Then he wanted to drive my car which he did but it was more for his pleasure than mine. I spoke with the lead about this and she was very grateful for my report and offered to get me another instructor. So if you are not happy or uncomfortable with your instructor at an event, do not hesitate to ask for another. You are the customer and paying a good penny to learn.

XLR8

Enthusiast
Reaction score
That sounds like the second instructor that rode with me. He had never been to COTA before but had used video games to learn it. He could not talk enough about his GTO. A little distracting!!

RadarBait

Enthusiast
Reaction score