Gen 1 gas problem

Discussion in 'RT/10 and GTS Discussions' started by pollard4286, Aug 15, 2013.

  1. pollard4286

    pollard4286 Enthusiast

    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    I just purchased a 1995 RT/10. I ran out of gas and the gas gauge was still showing a quarter of a tank. The gauge works but will run out of gas with a quarter still showing. Anyone have a good starting point to fix. I am wanting to make the Biltmore trip but don't want to stop and fill up like I'm driving a motorcycle. Thanks
     
  2. CEJ

    CEJ Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,175
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    When you fill the tank, what does your gas gauge show?
     
  3. hiss highness

    hiss highness Viper Owner

    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    sounds like either gauge or sending unit, cept gauge is easy fix, vpa has new ones or could try wrecker, cant say is needle is sticking on lower 1/4 as it appears to work from there up, see if any local viper guys have a spare unit you could swap out to see
     
  4. pollard4286

    pollard4286 Enthusiast

    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    When I fill the car up the the gauge works. It's almost like the car thinks its out of gas but really isn't, if that makes sense because the gauge works.
     
  5. pollard4286

    pollard4286 Enthusiast

    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    And when I fill the car up it shows full.
     
  6. BadAndy

    BadAndy Viper Owner

    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    East of Columbus Ohio
    If sending unit....set trip odometer and get gas every 200 miles. My current procedure unfortunately since the part is no longer available.
     
  7. s55c

    s55c Viper Owner

    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    I used a new chrysler sending unit for an older dodge van, it had the same ohms scale as the original viper one,, just shorten the float arm and adjust the zero point and gas gauge is back in business.... if you look in the carter fuel pump catolog browse thru the dodge section it has pictures so you can look at the picks of various modules and you can see which ones have the same basic configuration as well as only 2 connectors.... now getting the tank out was the real PIA.....
     
    Steves likes this.
  8. hiss highness

    hiss highness Viper Owner

    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    the guage should read zero with no power, 131 for new one at vpa, two on ebay one is 65 one is 30 with bidding, believe gen 1 and 2 are same gauges just different metal bracket, so just swap em over
     
  9. pollard4286

    pollard4286 Enthusiast

    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    The garage appears to be working fine. So I guess now I will tackle the sending unit.
     
  10. Steves

    Steves Enthusiast

    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2019
    Location:
    Oklahoma
     
  11. Steves

    Steves Enthusiast

    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2019
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Hey did u happen to have the Carter part no. For the fuel sender you used? I would greatly appreciate it
     
  12. 94ViperWC

    94ViperWC Enthusiast

    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2019
    Location:
    West Chester, PA
    My fuel gauge also doesn't seem to work well, last weekend it was showing 0 fuel but when i filled it up it only took 14 gal? The gauge swings back and fourth alot so when driving its hard to say where it really is.
     

Share This Page