How do you like your filter?-KN/SB/Stock/Other

MES

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Get a set of S&B's and smooth tubes from Roe Racing, that's what I have. I hear the K&N's don't fit very good and have less surface area (but I have no first hand knowledge). Dodge would not have put K&N filters into the ACR Vipers without testing first, so I would say they are safe to use.

Hoosier Daddy

Enthusiast
Reaction score
A little misnomer about the K+N air filter million mile warranty. Unlike Ron Popiels set it and forget it oven. This filter need to be cleaned and reoiled regularly. I believe the million miles is when they fall apart, not how long they stay oiled.

Ron

Enthusiast
Reaction score
<FONT face="Comic Sans MS">I've never seen a claim that stated K&N's filter better than non-ACR OEM paper/foam and since I can't feel any difference with K&N's, (#'s are meaningless to me if I can't feel it) I've reverted back to OEM for the perceived engine longevity issue, though I put them and the rain-deflectorless airbox back on for dyno use.

Not scientific by any means, just my logic.....</FONT f>

Steve 00RT/10

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I use Amsoil filters. Same flow/better dirt trapping than KN's. I clean them before storing the car. Can't comment on the S&B's--no experience.

Steve

Tiepilot

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I purchased smoothies and S&B's from Roe Racing, the airbox fit is perfect unlike the K&N's, also the filters are opened/cleaned up more than the K&N's around the edges giving more surface area. I've used K&N's for years but no longer, especially since I didnt have to cut-up my airbox to make them fit.
There was a marked difference in throttle response, it was very noticeable compared to the stock DC filters (which were new).

JonB

Legacy\Supporting Vendor
Supporting Vendor
Reaction score
Dust/grit/debris certainly enter in direct proportion to increased flow. And in proportion to filter neglect, esp of HiFlow filter maintenance. Oil dirties faster