Just bought and found there is oil in the guage

Discussion in 'Ask VCA Headquarters' started by KBS1, Apr 30, 2019.

  1. KBS1

    KBS1 VCA Member - CO/NM

    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    20190426_152128.jpg
     
  2. Shaggy

    Shaggy Enthusiast Staff Member

    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona
  3. redtanrt10

    redtanrt10 Viper Owner

    Posts:
    1,515
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Location:
    Dana Point CA
    KBS, I have no idea what that gauge is, it isn't stock. Neither is the air intake or the open breather on the valve cover. That cylinder above the gauge looks like an aftermarket catch can.

    Lastly, check the date codes on those tires, I think there and old set of Michelin's that are probably 15 + years old. You don't want to be driving hard on tires that old. good luck, Mike
     
  4. KBS1

    KBS1 VCA Member - CO/NM

    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    Thank you, I will follow up on the tires. Apparently the car had been modified with a TNT555 package renaming it the Viper Serpent. I am concerned about the fluid in the gauge.
     
  5. KBS1

    KBS1 VCA Member - CO/NM

    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    After I received my car I tried starting it. It will start up and immediately shut off. The key fob doesn't appear to be working and the alarm appears to be on. Tried a suggested method of reprograming the key fob but it didn't work. Any suggestions ?
    Thanks
     
  6. AZTVR

    AZTVR Enthusiast

    Posts:
    3,023
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Location:
    Chandler AZ
    As far as the oil in the catch can, that is what it was installed for, to catch oil, especially for very aggressive driving. If you are concerned that it may be excessive blow-by, have a leak down test performed. On the alarm issue, there are usually people on the forums that can help with that; but, they may not see your question buried inside an unrelated thread. I suggest starting a new one for that.
     

Share This Page