KW suspension on ‘93 GEN 1?

BahrainiViper

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Recently acquired a 1993 Gen 1 Viper. Considering better ride quality. Been looking into KW coilovers and seems they only produce V2 for Gen 1. However, their parts list states it’s for 94+ which makes me wonder what changes between 93 & 94 in terms of suspension!

Any feedback gents?

Part number was 15227014

Steve-Indy

VCA Venom Member
Venom Member
Reaction score
Guys, while I have no hands on experience with the suspension of 92, 93, or 94...there must be some differences among the GenI years judged by the parts catalog:

4643 1152 1992 w/Coil Spring 4709 0512 1993-95 w/Coil Spring 5012 650AA2 1993-95 (BUSHING w/04709051 only)
4855 1682 1996 w/Coil Spring

BahrainiViper, I hope this helps !!

GTS Dean

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Then it looks like '92s had different coil-overs than '93-95. Bushings are replaceable. My recollection is that the rear shocks are quite a bit longer than the fronts and have conventional lower eyes. The '96+ rear shocks are much shorter and lower bodies thread into a cast aluminum clevis that straddles the half-shaft on each side.

OP
OP
BahrainiViper

BahrainiViper

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I don't believe there is any substantial difference in coil-overs between '92 and '95.

The '96RT got the Gen2 frame and suspension.
I believe so. I don’t understand why it’s so expensive for the viper tho. I got a V3 for $2,700 on my other ride

I will contact KW for further info

Thanks gents for the replies

Dan Cragin

Legacy/Supporting Vendor
Supporting Vendor
Reaction score
BC does not have a option for the Gen 1's. The KW option is suspect, as I never could get it in the day, very pricey as well.

Your Koni shocks can be rebuilt and upgraded, which makes a
big difference. Problem is, you have to send them out for 8-10 weeks.

MCS also can build a system for the Gen 1, I have never installed one but have the specs and its a top notch system. About $3600