QUESTION ON SLICKS FOR A VIPER.....

RED 97 GTS

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I HAVE NEVER USED SLICKS BEFORE AND THOUGHT I MIGHT TRY THEM OUT. WILL MY STOCK HALF SHAFTS HOLD UP FOR A FEW RUNS AND WHAT RPM DO YOU TAKE OFF AT. THANKS

Tom Welch

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Matt,

I assume you are talking about for drag racing use?

Slicks will not improve your elapsed times much if your car is stock. I know that this sounds crazy, but its true. I tested several stock vipers including my own with slicks and only found about a tenth of a second difference from Pilots.(our track hooks good)

Your half shafts will hold up to a "few" runs as long as wheel hop is not an issue. I chose the added piece of mind and put better ones in.

Good luck with your viper.......check out my website at the link below as we offer many performance items for your viper as well as an instructional video based upon drag racing both street tires and slicks.

Tom
Http://btrviper.com

NascarDave

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Matt,
Get Tom's Video. I got it and my ET's dropped from low 12's to high 8's based on his driving technique.

His video is very comprehensive and outlines tools you'll need, launching techniques, air pressures, and so on.

Dave

Venom Lover

Enthusiast
Reaction score
I assume also that you are talking about slicks for drag racing. If so, you know that there are no ET streets for the stock Viper rims? Also, there are no "standard" after market 16" rims that fit around the rotors, etc., so you're talking about custom wheels. So, now you're talking $1200+ for custom rims and ET streets for the rear. Next, once you do that, you need skinnies for the front, unless you really want to die from total loss of handling. Plus, they will help bring your mph back up. So, now you're talking another $1200+ for custom skinnies. See John Purner for all the above.