rattling noise in neutral

Stag Stopa

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi fellow Viper owners and tech experts,

I've recognized some (quite) subdued rattling sound from the drivetrain when the car (2010 SRT-10) is running, warmed up, in neutral and the clutch engaged during the past few days.
Well, I've to admit that I sometimes tend to be way too paranoid when it comes to things like this ... On the other hand I often try to calm down and tell myself that I'm still fairly new to the whole matter and heck - what do I know about Vipers and how things (should) sound/feel in a car like that? Growing up as car guy and working in the industry I understand that the occasional "clank" from the differential is "normal" within reason (big fat Dana-GKN-LSD and tons of torque), but concerning the clutch/transmission noise I'm in need of your help - am I over concerned and should ignore it (another living part of the Viper!) or is there something wrong with it (throwout bearing, input shaft bearing, pilot bearing)?

I'll attach a little recording I've done and there the difference between engaged and disengaged clutch is quite good distinguishable. The noise isn't there (yet) when the car is cold or the clutch is fully depressed (as soon as I lift the pedal and the engine is warm it apperars right away). I'm not 100% sure about the following, but I think that the sound isn't affected by the engine speed (carefully blipped the throttle a few times) and that the "rattling" is also present whilst creeping in 1st gear (under load the engine elimantes all other sounds - that's a good thing!).
I've already planned to change the transmission fluid in the following weeks, but well - I was never a believer of "simple solutions" like that when mechanical noises were involved. So tell me: normal behaviour or not? If so is immediate action recquired/advised?

https://www.dropbox.com/s/s0vwuxjwsx761gc/2021_05_18_22_26_02.mp3?dl=0

Thanks and see you later,
Kevin

Last edited:

MoparMap