Removing sport shims

Nadine UK GTS

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Went to take my sport shims out (track use) and...the two nuts clamping the sport shims in-between pivot bar and frame, do I do them back up tight after removing shims, or just tighten them back up to where they were when shims were in? (Sorry if this is a stupid question!)
You must be registered for see images

Brad Manhattan Beach

Viper Owner
Reaction score
Nadine:

I'm no suspension expert here, but I don't think it's as easy as removing the shims and you're done. I think that most would recommend that you re-align your car after you do this with the race alignment specs. I would call Dan Cragin to confirm this. I would hate for you to hit the track, and find out after the fact that you should have done something that would have prevented an expensive mistake.

Good luck and have a great weekend.

Brad
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Nadine UK GTS:
Went to take my sport shims out (track use) and...the two nuts clamping the sport shims in-between pivot bar and frame, do I do them back up tight after removing shims, or just tighten them back up to where they were when shims were in? (Sorry if this is a stupid question!)
You must be registered for see images

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

kverges

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Sport Shim 101 (according to me, anyway)

1. Loosen nuts holding upper control arm pivot shaft enough to remove sport shims.

2. Remove shims.

3. Tighten nuts securely, which will pull pivot shaft against upper frame rail.

4. Replace wheel and drive the car like stink.

5. Reverse the above for street use.