Viper road racing?

Supercar

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi Everybody!

I am an engineer and an owner of an aftermarket company. I specialize in road racing products and I would like to buy a Viper one day, do track days in it and make some fast parts. I had a few chances to do that recently, butt...

One big question I have is where are all the Viper road racers/open trackers? Do Viper owners like to road race? If you go to the Vette forum there is a whole page of new posts every day just about road racing and autocross. Is there another forum where they are all hiding? The three Competition Coupe Racing Series forums here are barely alive, and it looks like this forum is more for the dyno and street racers.

Please help! I would like to meet all the road racing folks and see what they are talking about, and find out what it is like to road race a Viper! Thank you.

Chuck 98 RT/10

Enthusiast
Reaction score
Percentages. It is my educated guess that Vipers are one of, if not the most tracked production car built. I do 10-12 event each year and at every one there are always 6-12 Vipers entered. That is a lot for a limited production vehicle just introduced 15 years ago.

There is also Viper Days. A Viper dedicated organization that includes the Michelin Challenge Series and the full out race series Viper Racing League. Viper Days events typically have 60 to 90 Vipers entered.

In order to get the kind of road racing forum traffic Corvette has Dodge would have to produce 50,000 Vipers every year for 20 years. Instead Dodge builds approximately 1,000 to 1,500 Vipers annually.

For the record, my 97 GTS has nearly 50,000 miles on it, most of which are track miles. Formerly a school car I've been tracking it for 6 years and it has never had the valve covers off. Vipers are very durable and perfect track cars. If I ever get a 06 Viper it will get more track miles than street. Those things rock.

OP
OP
S

Supercar

Enthusiast
Reaction score